Dean Smith-Richard and The Venturess

You might have seen tweets about Dean’s choose your own adventure scifi story.  If you haven’t well, now’s your chance to get caught up.  If you don’t know what it is, stay here and get the details.  Then you MUST join the rest of us on this adventure. After Dean writes each part of the story, he gives the readers a choice on where the story goes next.  It stays up for a week and then we wait.  I know I have wanted to know what happens next, you get hooked! Also the best part….. it’s FREE!  So I asked Dean a little bit about The Venturess and his plans for it.

What inspired you to write a choose your own adventure?

Like a lot of people, I loved those stories growing up. I wanted to do one for adults, except instead of making it an actual book, have it be something live and ongoing. Also, that way I don’t have to write in second person, which is hacky and terrible (although usually the only way to write a choose-your-own-adventure story in a book).
Have your readers surprised you in their votes and have they taken you in a different way than you expected the story to go?
Sort of. It’s been interesting to see some of the choices, when a peaceful resolution is chosen versus violence. I purposefully kept the crew small to being with, as there are choices that will lead to new people joining the crew. The first opportunity was at the end of chapter 3, and after a peaceful vote at an earlier juncture, I expected the same there, but it was not to be, so the potential crewmate died. That was kind of a bummer. It’s early yet, so I don’t know if it was surprising, but it was a little unexpected.

Do you write any parts ahead of time and change it based on the vote or do you wait till the vote closes?

I have the present storyline outlined in a description tree, so all the options are pretty much ready to go. Writing more than that ahead of time would be a fool’s errand. Each chapter is fairly short, around 1,000 words, so it rarely takes long to write. Plus, part of it was a challenge to myself- writing it within a week.
Do you have a favorite character in this story? I will say mine is Scorch.

I love all my children the same! It’s tough to say, because it’s early. I really do like them all, though, for different reasons. I am excited for Scorch, because he has secrets that will be fun to reveal, one day.

About how many chapters will this be? I want to say episodes because it’s like TV for me. “What will happen next week? I can’t wait”.

It depends. Nothing is sacred, so any of the characters can die, and there will be options that lead to that. Some options will lead to a quicker resolution than others. But the universe is open ended, so if interest continues growing, I will keep writing.
Do you plan on publishing The Venturess into book format?

Probably not. If it magically got super popular, maybe, but since I writing it as I go, the un-voted for options are never written. I want it to remain free, although if people like it, I will put a tip jar of sorts out.

How has The Venturess, writing wise, been different than your other work?

It’s very, I’m not sure what the right word is, not campy, but it’s Science Fiction through and through. Lasers, aliens, artificial gravity and all that, which is not typically what I write. I typically write science fiction that is such only by virtue of being set in space. They are much more speculative than science fiction, if that makes sense. But I wanted this to be a ‘simple’ universe with a lot of options.

What has been the best part for you in writing this?

It’s been super fun to have the challenge of writing a new piece, and it keeps the creative juices flowing. I like writing within the constraints given, that I have to go from one point to another that aren’t necessarily what I chose.

What is something you would like the readers to know about The Venturess?

That its fate is up to them in two ways: First, obviously within the story, but also I am giving it away, but I’m only going to do that if people want it. So if it’s something you like, please read it and vote on it (the first three chapters have about 1 vote per ten visits). I don’t have a firm threshold for this, but if the interest isn’t there, there’s no reason to write it. But I want to! So please, read it, vote on it, and tell other people about it.

So step aboard <a title="The Venturess " href="http://theventuress.com and take part in this adventure!  Tell your friends!!

If you love The Venturess you can also purchase 3024AD on Kobo and Barns and Noble.

Kobo : http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/3024ad-short-stories-series-one

BnN : http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/3024ad-des-richard/1115176231?ean=2940016723891

photo
Dean Smith- Richard

You can follow Dean on twitter at @deanfortythree , to find out what he is up to next.

Leave a Reply

