Introducing: SC Harrison

Happy Wednesday All! Today I have for you the lovely SC Harrison. We have gotten to talk a bit and I am excited to share her interview with you today! 🙂 Sit back…. grab a drink or a kitty and enjoy.  Also at the end of the post you will be able to get her book for free! I did!

kittens-gif

wWRUKSiv.jpg-large
SC Harrison

Christina: What’s your current project? Tell us a little about it.
SC. Harrison: It’s a bit stalled at the moment but I’m trying my hand at a non-science-fiction, future-based nation-building scenario with a cult twist. Think Sim City on an extremely micro level. My characters are struggling against all sorts of darkness in their lives in the midst of this massive upheaval, and then they just… stop. This story is what happens when people become dark.
C. What has been your favorite scene to write so far?
SCH. Near the beginning my hard, female main character is working in her yard and she experiences the unmistakeable feeling of being watched, although the population density at the time is less than ten people per square mile. She runs through all the usual possibilities in her head before bolting inside and crying on the floor for an hour. This scene illustrates her “before” personality and highlights for the first time her humanity and vulnerability, as well as introduces fear into her new life. It’s a creeping, primal atmosphere, and was delicious to write. I felt like I could chew it.
C. Who or what has inspired your writing?
SCH. A bunch of shitty YA I read when I worked at a library. I knew I could do better. Five years later and it turns out I can’t.
C. What is your biggest goal with your writing?
SCH. I want to transport my reader, if only for a moment. If I can distract someone in the doctor’s waiting room or make someone smile while waiting on an important phone call, then I’ve succeeded as a person.

C. Do you have any pre-writing rituals?
SCH. I have to be in a certain mindset and so when that happens, I jump on it.

tumblr_m7qvws7Jmo1qbxi45o1_500
C. What is the weirdest location you’ve ever written at?
SCH.A police station
C. How do you handle writer’s block?
Time. I don’t rush things. I’ve got nowhere to be.
C.How much research was involved in your latest piece and how did you tackle it?
SCH. For this question I’ll use my pride and joy, Some Loser Named Chamomile, which dug into severe mental illness. I did a lot of reading into the various schizotypal disorders and then, most fascinatingly, read accounts written by schizophrenics themselves. You come away a different person.
C. Are you a planner or a pantser?
SCH. Oh, I plan. I plan and plan and plan, but the story inevitably breathes on its own and I let it. My early outlines are always so cute. They never happen.
C. What has been your biggest learning experience so far in your career?
SCH. That I don’t have a writing career. I have a writing facet of my personality and I’m not hot shit. That took a lot of pressure off myself.
C. Is there anything you wish you were told prior to writing or publishing?
SCH.Don’t give up querying. Whatever you do, see it the fuck through.
C. What’s next for you?
SCH. All I care about is finishing the next story. 🙂
C. Have you taken any writing classes? If so, share those experiences.
SCH. A few in college. Sometimes I consider going back to get another bachelor’s in English, since I’m just a few credits away, but then I’m like, “But I don’t want to die broke.” My Creative Writing class was a joke, though. It was taught by a tired old hippie who, after years of yearning to be published, was so excited to announce that she had accepted a publishing deal from… CreateSpace. And she had us make effing collages out of magazine cutouts. I prefer macaroni pictures.
C.Is there any talent or skill you wish you were better at within the writing process/publishing process?
SCh. I wish I had thicker skin.
C. Have your parents read your work?
SCH. My mom has. One day I came downstairs with 500 printed pages in a binder and said, “Hey, I wrote a book. Wanna read it?” And she did. And she’s my biggest fan. Because she’s the best momma.
C. What made you decide to self-publish?

SCH.At the time I cited a lot of reasons, but in reality I had just given up. I wish I never had. I wish I had stayed in the traditional game. Something might have happened if I did.

C. When writing sexy scenes, do you need to be completely alone or does it not matter?
SCH. Oh, it totally doesn’t matter. I’ve written erotica sitting on the sofa with my family while watching TV. It’s a persona you slip into. Once you learn how to turn it on and off, the whole world is your four-poster.
C. What scares you the most?
SCH. Before I had a child, being alone. Now, everything.

Animated-gif-Pringle-cat-picture-moving-to-a-beat
C. When did you start to feel like an author?
SCH. The first time I cried when I got a rejection.
C. Have you ever acted out a scene to see if it worked?
SCH. Yes, it was a make-out scene and I felt like I didn’t know how to position their arms and legs so I ended up bending my husband around like Gumby. I recommend it.
WOOHOO thanks girlie for talking with me.  Now you know you all want to go get her book!  It’s FREEEEEE!!

book: http://www.amazon.com/Some-Loser-Named-Chamomile-Harrison-ebook/dp/B00KEINKOG
twitter: @vcrbrigade

43090-Jumping-Kitty-gifs--PandaWhale-fL7G

Leave a Reply

